top of page
  • Writer's pictureTessa Van Niekerk

Getting Skilled Up

There are people on this planet who are sitting pretty in their shelters and looking at each other with an “I told you so” grin on their faces. They are obviously more than a little weird, but at this point in the war, they are the most comfortably off.


They call themselves Preppers and they pride themselves on being prepared for TEOTWAWKI (The End Of The World As We Know It) in the best way possible and catering for all contingencies, be it a catastrophic natural disaster, a viral pandemic or a Zombie apocalypse! Most of them are highly skilled in what is needed for surviving such cataclysmic events (from self-defence and hunting to making clothes from almost nothing!) and they have well-stocked supplies of everything. In fact, they have hoarded toilet paper since long before it became fashionable to do so. (If they haven't, they know how to use many other things in the place of the bog roll!)


Yes, they beat the rest of us to the punch - simply because we thought their beliefs were a few cookies short of a full tin - and they will probably do the same next time, too, as we gradually return to our complacency.


As for me, I do possess some skills that could come in handy, but I am nowhere as skilled as I feel I should be. Therefore, the next few weeks and months might see me “skilling up” in various areas, such as aquaponics, beekeeping, soap making, cheese making, charcuterie, chicken husbandry and even canning and preserving. The best I can do for myself and my family is to keep myself up to date with the “old-fashioned” stuff. After all, those are the skills that will endure.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Asking the right questions

2020 - to quote some anonymous Facebook user - really didn't use any lube. This year messed with peoples' lives on a grand scale, whether it was by taking away loved ones, closing small businesses tha

Ready, Steady...

I went for a walk this morning. Firstly, because the Government allows it and secondly, just to get out of the apartment. I stopped at a pharmacy on the way to pick up my chronic meds, so that was the

bottom of page