top of page
  • Writer's pictureTessa Van Niekerk

The Monster in the Mirror

This COVID-19 isolation thing is a recipe for disaster!!! And no, I have not joined the American Fringe Right overnight. Let me explain.


Unlike the weird and wacky protesters (Haircuts? Really?) that took over FOX News lately, I have no problems whatsoever with being locked down. In fact, it's been the best few weeks of my life so far. No kids running around yelling, late mornings in bed with my favourite hot beverage and a good story... perfect!


BUT


Being on my own with only my own thoughts and ideas for company has created a monster. Why? Because I have re-examined my life, and have redesigned many of my thought processes to help facilitate some serious changes in future. I have been taking a good long look at my goals and dreams and things that I want to do and achieve in life, and also examined the thoughts that are currently holding me back from reaching them.


Because it's NOT my boss, family, friends, and bank manager who are holding me back from those goals, but my own fear of failure and all the “what ifs” that have been plaguing me for so long. In short, I have been sacrificing my dreams and hopes and goals on the altar of the FEAR of other people's opinions for much too long. Because “what will people think?” and “what will people say?” scares more people than the thought of “what if I fail?” (and THAT is already a really scary thought, believe me!)


It has finally sunk in that opinions, as much as they can be helpful, do not buy coffee. So despite whatever anyone else says, the ultimate responsibility of making a decision lies with yours charmingly.


I have spent time thinking and doing and have sortakindamaybewhynot found my niche. It's not a big change from what I have been doing for a while now, just maybe a more intensified effort in order to establish myself better into a whole new field.


Scary? For sure! But I am actually up for this challenge and – what's more – I reckon that this could be fun!


WATCH THIS SPACE

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Asking the right questions

2020 - to quote some anonymous Facebook user - really didn't use any lube. This year messed with peoples' lives on a grand scale, whether it was by taking away loved ones, closing small businesses tha

Ready, Steady...

I went for a walk this morning. Firstly, because the Government allows it and secondly, just to get out of the apartment. I stopped at a pharmacy on the way to pick up my chronic meds, so that was the

bottom of page