top of page
  • Writer's pictureTessa Van Niekerk

Why am I blogging?

I started this blog simply to get my thoughts "out there", with the idea of maybe sharing some worthwhile products and services and generating an affiliate income that would be big enough for me to be able to quit my full-time job. After all, that is what everyone is doing, right?


The problem with that reasoning is that because "everyone" is doing it already, the slices of pie are getting really, really small. But that's not the only problem.


In times of trouble, people don't fork out what little available they have on fads and doodads, or even on good tools and information that might be useful for many years to come. In times of trouble, people look to meet basic needs, like shelter, clothing, food, medicine. Relationships become more important than stuff and hard facts outweigh opinions. People scrounge around for "free" more than ever.


Needless to say, my original intentions went out the window the moment the COVID-19 virus was identified. It's war, but this time the enemy is everywhere and invisible. (Sounds Biblical, and may very well be!)


I'm still getting my thoughts "out there", both on this platform and on social media, but it is no longer about the "money potential." Instead, it's a mechanism to keep my mind from dwelling too much on the interesting times in which we are currently living and into a positive solution-oriented frame.


If I can influence others, it's a good thing. This is not as much about what to think as about how to think it! We all come from different backgrounds, be it ethnic, religious, socio-economical, political (Frankly, little of that matters right now!), so our points of view are also vastly different. So what? The point that I want to get across is that while our opinions are all valid, in this situation we must consider positive ways to not only cope ourselves, but to help our neighbors cope as well, whether we really like them or not! We must look at how the world is changing right before our eyes and instead of complaining ponder on solutions and find new opportunities in the current chaos. (They are there, just not jumping up and down and waving.) It's about showing each other the beauty and being grateful for whatever we have been given. It's about being there for each other and finding ways to build up, not tear down.


I don't own a television set. I have NEVER owned one. That is a good thing, because if I had to stream endless "news" into my consciousness, I would have been institutionalized many years ago. The headlines are given to me, anyway, so I'm not totally ignorant, but I don't have to watch idiots protesting about - of all things - the lack of a professional haircut! As someone said later, hairdressers and beauticians should rest while they can, because once these restrictions are lifted, they're going to be extremely busy!


So this is me for today. Nothing too radical, I hope, but maybe a bit of an insight into me. You never know when that might prove useful.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Asking the right questions

2020 - to quote some anonymous Facebook user - really didn't use any lube. This year messed with peoples' lives on a grand scale, whether it was by taking away loved ones, closing small businesses tha

Ready, Steady...

I went for a walk this morning. Firstly, because the Government allows it and secondly, just to get out of the apartment. I stopped at a pharmacy on the way to pick up my chronic meds, so that was the

bottom of page