top of page
  • Writer's pictureTessa Van Niekerk

Facebook Photo Challenge Pics: All 7 days, explained

Facebook has a chain going around where you tag "friends"/contacts/whatevers to post a black-and-white pic daily for seven days and they post and tag people in return. Methinks it's just a good way to provide free stock photographs to whoever needs them, but I got tagged by my Significant Other's mom, so now I have to play, too.


The original rules on Facebook say "no comment", but I reckon sometimes an explanation is needed. Therefore, I am going to post my pics here as well, with as much comment as I think is necessary. (It may not be at all!)


I have had great fun thinking up photographs to take and post that would tell a bit about ME and not just show off my latest pedicure. Mind you, on me, that WOULD be newsworthy!

 

Day One, 12 October 2019


Temperature can be measured by the length of the cat! [Model: Vetkat (Fat Cat)]


 

Day Two, 13 October 2019

Two pairs of well-worn shoes. SI ties his shoes inside-out. It is a bikers' habit and apparently it serves to prevent the loops from getting stuck on the footholds or get tangled in the chain of the bike when one falls.


 

Day Three, 14 October 2019



My beer bottle problem. I don't drink the stuff, myself, but my neighbors do, and they know that I recycle glass. Not sure how many quart bottles there are. Shall count them when I sell them off.


[Ps. We counted them. There were 104 bottles.]


 

Day Four, 15 October 2019


One of the many body flaws on my '77 VW Beetle. The door has a hole big enough for a whole mouse family to live in! I would love to win the Lotto to be able to fix everything that's wrong. Guess I'll have to buy a ticket first, though...


 

Day Five, 16 October 2019

I brought my seedlings inside today. The sun outside is simply too harsh for them. The seeds are what I have saved, and also what I have bought from Livingseeds, an heirloom seed company south of Johannesburg. I found that the bought seeds do better...


Clockwise from back right, there are two cultivars of tomatoes, some sage, 5 cucumber sprouts and the (saved) chili sprouts. I planted all the seeds into jiffy seed pods and will probably transplant them into their own (recycled) containers soon. The seed pods are bought as compressed coir peat disks contained in a little paper baggie. The flat disks expand into pods when they get wet. The idea is to plant the seedling with its pod and all when it reaches the stage of 4 true leaves, causing less stress on the little plant's root system. The paper completely breaks down, providing extra nutrients.


 

Day Six, 17 October 2019


Boss person brought my water cooler bottle today. Water cooler is also a water boiler. Coffee on tap!


 

Day Seven, 18 October 2019


Last day. Yes, I am a coffeeholic! Truthfully, that mug should probably not be so close to the keyboard, but I moved it directly after I took the photo. I've lost about 5 keyboards in the past 2 years due to coffee spills. But losing the coffee was worse...

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Asking the right questions

2020 - to quote some anonymous Facebook user - really didn't use any lube. This year messed with peoples' lives on a grand scale, whether it was by taking away loved ones, closing small businesses tha

5 New Habits I'm Cultivating in 2020

There is now new research out into how long it takes for a new habit to set hold. The old rule of thumb of 21 days isn't valid anymore. Instead, the anonymous "They" maintain that it takes up to 66 da

bottom of page