top of page
  • Writer's pictureTessa Van Niekerk

I found a site...

Christmas - as far as I am concerned - isn't just about gifts. It's an opportunity to spend time with people that you care about more than anyone else in the whole wide world, and some that you don't! Yes, my faith features in it, too, but as Christmas is derived from a pagan festival to begin with, Easter is more relevant to me.


What I try my utmost to do each year, is to give home-made gifts, rather than plastic, store bought, made-in-China doodads that last exactly 10 minutes in small hands. This year, and hopefully in years to come, it will become more important to do something "local" and proudly South African to support local farms and industries.


In my search for gift ideas, I came across a great web site, The Sweet Rebellion. Its content is South African, so there are no weird ingredients that I have to order from wherever at a great expense. In fact, most of the edibles' ingredients can be sourced from my local bakers' store or supermarket. In future, I may even go to visit local farmers' markets or my own backyard!


This year, my family are all going to be getting edibles, neatly packaged in glass jars. I'll be going so far as to cut out most added sugar as well, but I do think the fruit juice that I intend to use for my gummies should be plenty sweet enough.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page