top of page
  • Writer's pictureTessa Van Niekerk

Taking a ME Day

Sometimes - just before I succumb to the urge to choke the life out of someone - I take a day off. It keeps me sane, out of jail and others alive.


Today was such a day. I slept until I woke up, attended a demonstration of how to make cheese at home and generally just lounged about, spending time with my cat, coffee mug and a romance novel or two.


June de Kock of June Culinary Studio in George did a great job of making cheese easy and very very personal to everyone attending the workshop at Die Melkstal here in Rustenburg. She demonstrated a range of soft cheeses to make at home: ricotta, feta, halloumi and mozzarella, using simple tools that can be found in most kitchens. The more specialized equipment and ingredients were available to purchase at a most reasonable price and I bought enough to keep DH and myself in cheese for at least the rest of the year.


Home-made cheese tastes a helluvalot better than the overprocessed, colored and preserved stuff that most supermarkets sell. As June said, making cheese is to return to the basics of where good food comes from and something to be savored, rather than rushed.

A big shout-out to Finestkind in Plettenberg Bay who made this road show possible.



14 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

I found a site...

Christmas - as far as I am concerned - isn't just about gifts. It's an opportunity to spend time with people that you care about more than anyone else in the whole wide world, and some that you don't!

bottom of page