top of page
  • Writer's pictureTessa Van Niekerk

It's seems impossible until you're doing it!

This year is the fifth year that I have entered NaNoWriMo. In the past, life happened and I abandoned the project part of the way, but this year, I have made the decision to see it through to the very end. Fifty thousand words, thirty days.


Well, life DID happen. I accidentally flushed the flash drive with (at that stage) half of my work down the loo. That meant I not only had to catch up on the 6000 words that I had lost (thankfully, I had made a backup of the first few chapters!) but that I had to work extra hard to get back on track!


For the record, I did. At this time, I am at 18333 words, the exact number of words that I need to have to be on track to finish in time.


The problem is that I don't want to finish on time, but ahead! So from tomorrow onward, I'm going to see if I can't type double the number of words required. It's almost like cricket, just without the choking. The goal has been set and the required run rate has been calculated. Now all that remains is to get out there and smash the ball out of the grounds!


People who say that it can't be done should get out of the way of people doing it!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Done!

bottom of page