top of page
  • Writer's pictureTessa Van Niekerk

Taking Permaculture Seriously - Principle by Principle



I've realized with a shock that I've been playing around with the concept of Permaculture for years now, with no real moves into the direction of getting the idea implemented into my life. Sure, I've been talking the talk with the best of them (and some of them are pretty good, I dare say!), but if one looks at how I live from day to day, I will definitely not be hanged for sedition, as David Holmgren so eloquently put it.


[The picture above comes from his web site, by the way! It's free to download and use as long as one gives credit where credit is due. And since David Holmgren was part of Permaculture's beginning, he deserves a helluvalotta credit.]


What attracted me to Permaculture many years ago, is what still attracts me to it now. The Permaculture Ethics and Principles can be applied everywhere and in every single situation without exception, whether it be to sort out one's inner spiritual landscape or to run a country! (Well, OK, not a country, yet! But if they did, our world would be in a much better position, wouldn't it?)


While I'm typing here, I'm still busy with my NaNoWriMo project, but I have already figured out my next big writing job. What I want to do - on here - is to take these 3 Ethics and 12 Principles and apply them to my own life, whatever my situation may be at the time. I also want to explore NEW ways of implementing Permaculture into my life, one Principle at a time.


Most of you know that I don't have a garden or even a small farm of my own yet, but that I "borrow" growing space as much as I can. I believe that whatever will be, will be and that if I work hard with what I currently have, the bigger things will sort themselves out. Lots of faith and prayer and tears in the process, but always tons of gratitude, too!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

5 New Habits I'm Cultivating in 2020

There is now new research out into how long it takes for a new habit to set hold. The old rule of thumb of 21 days isn't valid anymore. Instead, the anonymous "They" maintain that it takes up to 66 da

Looking at recycling from a different angle

I must confess that to me recycling has always been about raising some extra cash while doing good for the environment. It had never occurred to me that recycling as a goal unto itself can also feel b

bottom of page